In Esperance

Well I made it to Esperance, just under a quarter of the way…bam.  Rode into town at around 10pm last night after a 194km ride from Ravensthorpe.  15 hours in the saddle due to winds and hills.  Speaking of hills, the ride from Bunbury to Bridgetown, Kojonup and Ongerup (3 days) was not one for single speeds, let alone ones pulling 40 kilos of weight.  The area is hilly some of the hills trucks have to use low gears to go down so not to lose control.  Here I am going up, knees are still intact though.  I heard a bushfire was flaring up to the South West and the town of Nannup was evacuated so I though to head directly East, no problem get out of these hills and logging trucks.  Although they left a smell of freshly cut pinbe in the air as they went past in these windy roads they came a bit close more than a few times.   The logging trucks were replaced with road trains carrying sheep and cattle, not so nice smelling.  Then to add to the woes my trailer broke as I was leaving the tiny town of Ongerup.   About 120 people call this place home, not much there except a roadhouse and a general store.  Not to worry, Kevin the owner of the roadhouse was also a motorcycle mechanic, and with his welder (circa 1969) we made the trailer stronger and more stable then ever before (check out the photos).  The next two days I took fairly easy even though I had time to make up, that’s why I pushed myself into the night last night to get here.  From here on in is flat (hopefully) but long and dry.  I head East along the coast then go cross country hopefully hit Balladonia on the Nullarbor Plain in about 2 days time. I have added some photos here but my camera just went flat, I have all of them on my face book page http://www.facebook.com/#!/album.php?aid=26647&id=100000801647991.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment